Back to top

How to Transfer Parameters From One S600 To Another S600

S600 Transferring Parameters

A typical need is to transfer parameter settings from one drive to its replacement/spare.This could be from a file that is already archived or there may be a need to upload the parameters from the original drive to file first and then connect to the new/spare drive to download the same setup.

It is important to note the hardware and software ( firmware ) revision, as some settings may not transfer if the hardware and software (firmware ) versions are not the same.

image

Saving existing drive parameters to file

  1. Open the Drive software
    Valid COM ports should be active ( not grayed out ). In my case COM2 is active.
  2. I clicked on COM 2 to go online.
    image
  3. When communications is established between the Drive software and the drive the Transferring Data window will popup. You’ll also notice the status in the left bottom status bar has changed from Offline to Online.
    image
  4. From the Drive toolbar, click on the icon where the left arrow points to the floppy disk.
    image
  5. The Save Data window pops up and gives you the choice between saving only parameter, only motion tasks, or everything ( both ). Generally, click “Parameters and Motion Tasks” to save everything.
    image
  6. Next the Save As window opens and prompt you to enter a file name and also to choose the location on your PC where you want the file to be saved ( “Save In” ).
    image
    For this demonstration, I elected to save it to my PC’s desktop and name the file S600_Demo.
  7. Click the “Save” button. The Save As window closes and the cursor swirls while the data is saved to file. The cursor stops swirling when done.
    image
  8. Now that the parameters are saved to file, you can go offline by clicking the “Exit” button. 
    image
  9. Click Yes to go offline.
    image
    image

Connecting and downloading to the new/spare drive.

  1. Next go online with the new/spare drive.
  2. Valid COM ports should be active ( not grayed out ). In my case COM2 is active. I clicked on COM 2 to go online.
    image
  3. When communications is established between the Drive software and the drive the Transferring Data window will popup. You’ll also notice the status in the left bottom status bar has changed from Offline to Online.
    image
  4. Now that you are online the archived parameters can be “loaded from disk”. The Load Data From Disk button can be located on the Drive software toolbar. The icon is a floppy disk with an arrow point to the right away from the floppy disk.
    image
    image
  5. The Open window pops up and allows you to choose to point to the file location on your PC ( Look in: ) and to select the file/filename.
    image
  6. I selected the archived parameter file ( in my case S600_demo ) and then clicked the “Open” button.
    image
  7. The following pops up where you can select to overwrite the name and/or reference offset.
    image
  8. I clicked both boxes and then the OK button.
    image
  9. The transfer begins with the Transferring Data status window showing the transfer progress.
    image

More Information

  • One note here is that as stated before, if the drive hardware/firmware revisions are different then some ERR ( error ) messages may appear. In these cases it is important to record these messages and then check the definition in the ASCII Reference to understand the implications and to determine if these discrepancies apply to your operation or not.
  • The ASCII Reference is available in the Drive software under Online HTML Help.
    image
    image
  • The keyword/command can be looked up in alphabetical order.
    image
  • It may useful to also know that the latest ASCII Reference can be found and downloaded on our website at:
    http://www.kollmorgen.com/en-us/products/drives/servo/serviced-drives/s600/
    It is located under the Manuals tab and under Manuals.
    image
  • At the end of the transfer you are notified the configuration has changed. You have the option to click Yes and save the parameters to nonvolatile memory AND reset the drive so the changes take effect or “Discard Changes”. Typically you will want to click “Yes”.
    image
    On click of Yes, the cursor swirls during the changes.
  • When the changes have been made the cursor stops swirling and then the Transferring Data window shows the progress where the parameters are then uploaded from the drive to the Drive software.
    image